Lay Local Ministers (Pastoral)

Lay Local Ministers (Pastoral)

What does the Lord require of you, but to do justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with your God?

In 2008, seven Lay Local Ministers (Pastoral Assistants) were commissioned by the Bishop to serve in various ministry settings within the Dioceses: a mix of parochial and healthcare institutional settings. Since then a further six LLMs have trained and been commissioned.

Each LLM is part of the local parish ministry team and is in a mentoring relationship with the rector. Coming from an initiative of the Diocesan Healing and Pastoral Care Committee LPA’s undertake a two year course –  the Bishop’s Course in Pastoral Studies – under the direction of the Rev. Bruce Pierce, Director of Education at St Luke’s Home Education Centre.  The course continues for a third year. The emphasis of the course was on growth in self awareness, gaining both diverse pastoral skills and insights into the professional aspects of pastoral ministry.

The commissioning of the LLMs is an emblematic commitment of the Church to the richness of lay pastoral ministry.

The LLMs are members of the Diocesan Guild of Lay Ministers; the chaplain is the Reverend Paul Arbuthnot

The current LLMs are:

Dorothy Beamish (Bantry Hospital)
Gillian Powell (Bandon)
Howard Dunne (St Fin Barre’s Cathedral)
Jennifer Kingston (Bandon)
Sylvia Helen (Kilgariffe/Clonakilty)
Viv Squire (Bon Secours Hospital)